English cheesecake company

Ferrero Rocher Cheesecake: Review

An assortment of 12 decadent Ferrero Rocher Mini Cheesecakes from the English Cheesecake Company. The perfect Christmas puds delivered straight to your front door!

English cheesecake company

You can only imagine how much I was fan girling when an email from the English Cheesecake Company landed in my inbox, asking me if I would like a box of their Mini Ferrero Rocher Cheesecakes to review! I mean who would ever pass up the opportunity of free cheesecake delivered to their front door!? (Obviously not me 😂)

I decided to have the cheesecakes delivered to my work address so I could suprise my parents when I got home. With a perplexed look on her face my mum said, ‘you haven’t bought these have you?’ Not only was she delighted with the news that they were free (with the mere cost of a review), she was also ecstatic that these Cheesecakes didn’t cause havoc in her kitchen, only a few (licked clean) plates.

I was sceptical as to whether or not they would look as good as they did in the photo on their website, but because they are delivered frozen they arrived in perfect condition. Opening up the packaging felt so luxurious, a nice sturdy box (Ooo I love me some thick cardboard) in which the Cheesecakes were incased in a delicate paper. The only downside was I couldn’t sneakily pinch one at work as I had to wait for them to defrost. This is something you definitely need to consider if you are buying some for an occasion.

English cheesecake company delivery

We took the taste testing pretty seriously, one plate for each of the four different Ferrero Rocher Cheesecake flavours; Chocolate Cheesecake, Vanilla Cheesecake, Praline Frosted Cheesecake Cupcake & Chocolate Frosted Cheesecake Cupcake. When it comes to cheesecakes we are pretty snobby, so we had our best game faces on (they didn’t last long).

Whilst lifting another spoonful of the Chocolate Ferrero Rocher Cheesecake to her lips my mum muttered ‘I was not expecting them to be this good’. We have this preconceived perception on shop bought cheesecake, that it is fluffy, a bit dry and all round crap. (This snobbery only developed once I started making my own cheesecakes.)

Pleasantly surprised at the vanilla and chocolate cheesecakes’ creaminess and not overly sweet base, we moved onto the cheesecake cupcakes. Now this might shock a few of you but I’ve never actually eaten a Cheesecake Cupcake 😱

I have no idea what they are meant to be like, all I know is the English Cheesecake Company’s are dayummm good. Both of the Cheesecake Cupcakes were a moist chocolate sponge containing a creamy baked cheesecake centre. I don’t know about you but I’m feeling 22 it’s not often I come across a chocolate sponge that is both rich in flavour and moist. They were top notch 👌🏼

Both the Chocolate Cheesecake and Praline Frosted Cheesecake Cupcake tasted exactly like a Ferrero Rocher. You’re probably reading this like ‘well aren’t they meant to? Idiot!’ However I have had my fair share of puddings that are purely topped with the ingredient that they are named after. This isn’t a bad thing but for a pudding to actually taste like the name 😍 Now that’s a good un’!

The Vanilla Cheesecake and Chocolate Frosted Cheesecake Cupcake had a more subtle nutty taste. Unlike my mum and I, my stepdad is not keen on rich chocolatey cakes (doesn’t stop him eating them though). The Vanilla Cheesecake was his fave and if I didn’t have to write a review on them we wouldn’t have stood a chance of even having a little taste!

He is also very particular with frosting, he doesn’t like it overly sweet. If he can feel the grains of sugar in your buttercream, he sure as hell will let you know that he doesn’t have a sweet tooth (as he embarks on to his second cake). But, we were all pleased that the frosting on both cakes was smooth (and grain free). I would have been happy if they just sent a box full of frosting, it was delicious.

English cheesecake company

The box of minis contained three of each of the four flavours. Personally I think they would be ideal for a Christmas Party, they’re a delicious twist on the ultimate Christmas Chocolate. A selection of flavours to suit everyone’s preferences (unless you’re allergic to nuts or you don’t like Ferrero Rocher’s).

Who else’s opinion would you trust when it involves Cheesecake? I mean I practically live off the stuff!

6 thoughts on “Ferrero Rocher Cheesecake: Review

Leave a Reply

