Salted Caramel Popcorn Cheesecake

A super easy No-Bake Salted Caramel Cheesecake topped with caramel sauce and salted caramel popcorn! Perfect for a centre piece at an evening summer dinner party 🍿 

Salted caramel cheesecake topped with salted popcorn and caramel sauce

Unfortunately, for my friends and family there has been a severe cheesecake drought in the Biscuit Bases household for the past month. I’ve had no time recently to get my thing on in the kitchen and rustle up a new cheesecake recipe. The effects have been devastating, my step dad weighs the same as he did three weeks ago and hasn’t been indulging in a cheeky slice of cheesecake for three nights of the week. I know, I know, cruelty to parents, blah blah blah! He’s well fed don’t worry.

Due to good health, I’m back full time at work and seizing the weekends! When I get home from work I bury myself in my bed and recuperate from staring at spreadsheets all day. I spend my weekends in London with my boyfriends and visiting friends. 🚫His kitchen is currently under construction so not much cheesecake magic can happen there without a bit of sawdust, a hard hat and getting in the way of people with hammers🚫

Last week, I was lucky enough to be invited to the Coop’s #ChristmasInJuly event where they displayed their delicious christmas range. When I think of Christmas I think of food, I should probably think about family first but my mind is firmly focused on how many pigs in blankets I can get away with eating! So obviously I was very excited for a mid year, Christmas food warm up.  Their Christmas food range is all about centre pieces which inspired me to make a simple yet delicious cheesecake that would be perfect for a summer dinner party centre piece.

I literally used no skill making this cheesecake unless you count using a tin opener as tekkers (yes the caramel is from a tin, you can use one from a jar or even attempt making your own sauce but I’m not about that life 😂) The popcorn is even out of a bag ready made. You will need a lined 6inch loose bottom tin, a tin opener, an electric whisk or stand mixer and a sauce pan.

Ingredients 

For base:

  • 200 grams of digestive biscuits / graham crackers
  • 75 grams of unsalted butter, melted

For filling:

  • 600 grams of soft / cream cheese
  • 150 grams of caramel
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 75 grams of icing sugar
  • 400 ml of double cream

For decoration:

Method

Step1: Place the biscuits in a large mixing bowl or zip lock bag. Use a kitchen tool of your choice (mine is a rolling pin) and bash the biscuits into a fine crumb! Pour in the melted butter and mix together thoroughly. Tip the buttery biscuit mix into the lined tin, using the back of a soup spoon press the biscuits down.

Step 2: Place the soft cheese, vanilla, caramel and salt into your mixer. Mix on a medium speed. Next add the icing sugar, mix on a low speed, use a tea towel to cover your mixer to prevent a cloud of icing sugar taking over your kitchen.

Step 3: Remove the bowl from your mixer, pour in the double cream and give it a good mix with a spatula. Pop the bowl back on the mixer, using the whisk attachment, whip on a medium high speed until thick enough to hold itself. Plop it into the tin over the biscuit base and neatly level the top. Place in the fridge over night.

Step 4: Remove the cheesecake from the tin, place on a plate and pop back in the fridge. In a saucepan heat the caramel and double cream until combined, remove from the heat. Leave it to cool down, then pour the caramel sauce on top, pile the popcorn high, sprinkle the chocolate gold balls on top and serve. 

Enjoy

B 😘

10 thoughts on “Salted Caramel Popcorn Cheesecake

  1. Sammie says:

    Love this. I’m all about fabulously easy centre pieces, especially as they tend to be when a lot of other food prep is going on, in my case. I’m with you on the food at Christmas, after remembering Jesus’ birth it is THE most important aspect for me. Great post hon xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

